Stay at Home- Read a Book Part 1

In this pandemic era, I’m seeing numerous requests on various social media platforms for book recommendations. Since, shelter-in-place orders are starting to extend into May people may need to make their pandemic TBR lists a bit longer. So, for those of you our there that need an idea of what to get your hands on via audible, tablet, or hardback, here is one book lovers top five picks per category.

Please note that I’ve broken this up into two posts due to length. The categories covered today are:

non-fiction, fantasy, historical fiction, classics, and sci-fi. In the next post, I will be covering darker reads, mysteries, memoir, general fiction, and lighter reads. So, without further ado:

Non-Fiction-

I didn’t get into non-fiction until a few years ago, but there are some wonderous true tales our there. Even if you are more of a fiction person you may want to consider dipping your toe into this category with one of these.

105992

Helter Skelter by Vincent Bugliosi

This is a heavy book both physically in size and metaphorically in topic, but it is masterfully written. You might have a bit of fun reading this and then watching Tarantino’s Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. He gives several nods to the minute details of this case that are highlighted in this book.

Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann

The happenings in this book are so outrageous. I had a terrible time remembering it was non-fiction. It’s a quick read and tells a little-known story we should all hear about.

Deadwake by Erik Larson

I loved Devil in the White City, but I admit this book is better. It’s naturally a sad but eye-opening tale of how sometimes as humans, we never seem to learn from our previous mistakes.

36086

Ghost Map by Steve Johnson

This is about the cholera outbreak in the summer of 1854. This might not be the best choice if you are attempting to forget about our current pandemic. Nevertheless, Johnson writes a riveting history and shows how the science of epidemiology was born.  As a side note, I would not drink water while reading the first half of the book. There are some upsetting descriptions of sewage mingling with drinking water.

 

Born to Run by Christopher McDougall

This book is entertaining and informative. I discovered it after I started running, but I honestly think even non-runners would find this book interesting. It attempts to answer the questions should humans be running as much as they do or even at all?

Fantasy

Fantasy books generally don’t come alone. My list demonstrates this. If you find a fantasy book you like, it is most likely a series which is great news because it gives you several books to keep you entertained. Fantasy, similar to non-fiction, has flourished in the last decade or so. There’s a lot more variety than there used to be; something to consider if you normally avoid this genre.

Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

Sanderson is known for creating unique worlds and magic systems, but this is one of the coolest yet. Also, having a female hero is less common in fantasy novels and adds to the freshness of this series.

Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks

This has been around for a while, but it is memorable. This series is a little more on the gritty side of fantasy, but the grit isn’t gratuitous. Weeks creates a very dynamic tale.

23437156

Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

This duo is unique not only because it’s a duo instead of a trio, but it’s Ocean’s Eleven meets Game of Thrones with less death and no weird sex. It’s a real cool concept and well written.

Johnathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susan Clarke

This is a stand-alone book, but it is huge! It is well worth the time and effort. It has a mysterious darker edge and yet it’s a mesmerizing tale of dual worlds.

9361589

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This book is also a stand-alone. They fly-leaf of this book does not do it justice which is part of the reason I and many others put this book on the back burner for a long time. We were mightily surprised when we finally got to it. I beautiful and complex world exists within these pages which is part of the reason the summary can’t do it justice.

Historical Fiction

If you are looking to split the difference between non-fiction and other wordliness, historical fiction might be for you! It may all take place in the past, but this is a supremely diverse genre in topic and tone.

Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

If you want to really throw it back, this is the tome for you. And yes, it is a tome. It weighs in over 1000 pages but is not a slog. If you’re into architecture, the middle-ages, or blood boiling debauchery, Pillars is the ticket.

18143977

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

I know we’ve all read about world war II and honestly what else could possibly be done to make it moving or interesting? This book. Doerr writes beautifully, and he has a reason to because he’s giving you the world through the senses of someone who is blind. This is in my top five books of all time and deserves all the acclaim it has received.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This book could easily also be classified as romance. If you aren’t into that beware, but I admit I didn’t think I would be either. And I was definitely into this book. It’s large, but the writing style is easy and presents an interesting question on morality when in tough circumstances.

2834577

The Rossetti Letter by Christi Phillips

Full disclosure- I read this book when I was in high-school, but it stuck with me. Nevertheless, you might want to take this recommendation with a little salt. But from what I can remember it was a great story. It had some romance, but nothing steamy like Outlander. It was captivating, at least to 16-year old Jill, and if I remember correctly my mother also enjoyed it upon my recommendation.

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

Yes, I am recommending another world war II book. I can’t help it. It is flippin’ amazing and if you’ve already read All the Light You Cannot See like so many have, here’s a story that’s in the same vain but starkly different. The length of the French occupation is truly astounding and fully displayed in this tale.

Classics

Don’t roll your eyes. Classic can be great pleasure reading, particularly since you don’t have to write an essay on its themes when you are finished. I read all of these on my own out of school and recommend them regularly to people looking for something good but a little different. The great news about these is they are all public domain, so if you download a free reading app it should include all of these titles.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

This is one of the best classics around. I know a lot of people who have read this, and they all enjoyed it. It has a great story line with some surprising twists. It’s also far less complicated and lighter than Emily’s Wuthering Heights.

594139

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

However, if you are into dark. This would be a great selection. It’s dark. It’s devious. It’s a supremely intriguing tale. It takes the trope of a love triangle to a new and unsettling level.

 

 

Dracula by Bram Stoker

If you are worried this might be too scary, I assure you that if my chicken butt can read it so can you. There are a few thrilling moments towards the end, but this book is not scary. This is partly due to the fact that the story is conveyed through the characters’ diaries and letters. They are well-written, but they take a little of the edge off.

Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

The writing of this book stunned me. I never expected to find a novel written in the 19th-century to feel so alive and fast paced. This book led me to read other Dicken’s novels. All of which I enjoyed, but Tale of Two Cities is still my favorite.

7126

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

This book has it all which it should since an unabridged version is between 1200-1400 pages. It’s a great adventure story; however, finding an unabridged version is difficult, and I’m not sure what abridged editions are good. Also, it should be noted that its movie was awesome, but is vastly different than the book. I view them as two separate stories that have a few overlapping parts.

 

Sci-Fi

Admittedly, I don’t read sci-fi often, so I am not an expert in the genre. Nevertheless, I did find the reads below particularly of note.

Watchers by Dean Koontz

I read this book on the recommendation of my mother. It was a great read. The beginning was a bit creepy, but fascinating. I strangely remember a lot about it and even had my husband read it. If you like weird government experiments and golden retrievers check this out.

27833670. sy475

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

This is another great, but perplexing read. This is to be expected anytime you involve endless strands of time and characters start crossing them. It was an easy read and fully engaging.

Enders Game by Orson Scott Card

This is a classic sci-fi book and one where its movie didn’t come even close to doing it justice. The reveal in the end is masterful. Card creates a unique world and if you enjoy video games, they factor greatly into this read.

Sphere by Michael Crichton

This is another sci-fi classic. I read this back in high-school. While I don’t remember a lot of the details about the book, the concept is fascinating. Crichton, creator of Jurassic Park, does not disappoint.

42410904. sy475

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

If you are looking for a truly unique one of a kind book, Hitchhiker’s is it. Adams’ writing style is verbose, but it adds to the jovial and nonchalant tone of the book. There are some great moments and lines in this book that have stuck with me and are wonderfully quirky.

I know this was a lengthy list but hopefully it can get people started who are in search of reading material.

Until next time, happy reading!

Leave a comment